[Quick Reflection] An Aha! Moment: “Visualize and Envision to Publish . . . and not Perish!”

An oft-cited scripture from the christian bible is that of Proverbs 29:18. In the King James version of the bible, it reads:

Where there is no vision, the people perish.

Perish.

Such a strong word, no?

Around my stomping grounds of late (well, actually, of the least 6 years), the word “perish” is usually uttered or printed within the admonition “Publish or perish!”

Hmm! Common to both of these ideas is the word “perish.” So . . . what if I let the word “perish” function as a hinge while I try to reconcile these two ideas?

So far I’ve come up with this blend: “Visualize and envision to publish . . . and not perish.” In other words, if I don’t want my writing and writer’s identity to perish, I probably need to visualize and maintain a vision:

  • a vision for my writing process,
  • a vision for the work day,
  • a vision for the work hour,
  • a vision of the produced draft,
  • etc.

I took 1.5 hours this morning to really think about this. Because today needs to be a day that I produce (I know you’ve been here!).

Below are the graphic results (CLICK TO ENLARGE) of my serious attempt at having a VISION for how each span of working time (work day) “should” go and a VISION for each work hour.

So, are you strategic about how you work–about how you spend the work day and about how you spend an hour working? As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts. In the meanwhile, I wish you vision, and I send you vibes! Images are below! TO ENLARGE AN IMAGE, PLEASE CLICK IT. 

Blessings! 🙂

[By Z] Photo - Vision for Work Day (edited)

PossibleVisionForEachWritingWorkHour

Leave a Reply

