WizFolio: A Competitor to Mendeley (more Robust) that Enables Writing, Citing, and Collaboration in the Cloud?

Greetings, all!

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’m in the final stages of my thesis work and cannot post as frequently or in-depth as I typically would.

Normally I would take the time to trial an app or piece of software before mentioning it here, and I would include my initial impressions of the app/software, often followed by a follow-up post updating my impressions.

Since it’s crunch time for me, I’m simply going to share a link to the app’s website and a link to a few of their videos. If you do look into the app, I’d love to hear your first impressions.

NOTE: That’s my way of saying, “I’m curious. Post your comments, please! I can’t in good conscience look into this now, but perhaps there’s a fix (LOL!): I could learn about it based on your experiences and what you think, right? Say something! Say something!” 😉

Yeah, I know. But as a former computer scientist turned educator turned researcher, it’s just in me. 🙂 Oh, well. 😀

On to the app itself . . .

The Cross-platform Web App: WizFolio

There are many WizFolio videos on YouTube, including many on how Apple users use WizFolio on the Ipad and in other iOS environments (WizFolio is a web app, though). The following three videos, in my opinion, seem to provide the viewer with a good sense of WizFolio. However, as I have yet to explore more videos or the app itself, I may be in error there.

One thing: What about the pay wall issue? This seems to not simply allow folks to scale it, but just obliterate it completely. Hmm. Remember the movie “A Perfect Murder” with Michael Douglas, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Viggo Mortensen? You probably remember that scene when, with oh so much ice, Michael Douglas’s character told Gwyneth’s character “That’s not happiness to see me.” Yeah. I feel that scene could be re-enacted, with WizFolio as Michael’s character and Gwyneth’s played by any of your paid, online journals of choice.

Aside: Paperpile (here’s a video) seems similar and has me wondering if things are just going that way now, to the cloud? Paperpile is a Google reference, search, and citation app for using Google Docs to writing individually or in collaboration, with citation and auto-reference-list-building functionality and such. I don’t know if I’m ready to draft and write — to have my pre-publish thoughts — in the cloud! I haven’t yet needed to write collaboratively, though.

That about exhausts my current level of expertise ( 😉 ) on WizFolio. As always, Godspeed regarding all of your present endeavors. The videos are embedded below.

Happy writing, and take care!

Mickey

Leave a Reply

